Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl

You might know Carrie Brownstein from her award winning show on IFC, Portlandia,
but she is a woman of many talents. Her original claim to fame was as a guitarist in Sleater-Kinney. They were part of the 90s Riot Grrrl punk scene and they continue to make music. After a ten year hiatus, they released the album, No Cities to Love in January 2015. Brownstein is widely regarded as a feminist icon and was the only woman to make Rolling Stone’s “The Twenty-Five Most Underrated Guitarists” list.

HungerMakesMeAModernGirlAs a musician she wrote many of her own songs, so the leap from writing music to writing books was not that far. Her autobiography, Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl, was released in October 2015. This book focuses almost entirely on her early life and music career, which makes it a great read for anyone who is a fan of music biographies. There are a ton of these books that are full of crazy rock n’ roll antics, however Brownstein writes about herself in a way that most people could relate to. We find out that her mother struggled with anorexia and her father came out of the closet when she was a teenager. She was unsure about college and dropped out of Western Washington University after being pressured into applying. Her early career is not the confident story of a rock goddess full of bravado, but the story of an awkward suburban teenage girl who desperately wanted to be seen as a punk.

Rock music has historically been a boys club, but there are plenty of women that have broken that stereotype and written about it. Some read-alikes to Carrie Brownstein are:

GirlInABandGirl in a Band by Kim Gordon, the guitarist of Sonic Youth. In Girl in a Band, the famously reserved superstar speaks candidly about her past and the future. From her childhood in the sunbaked suburbs of Southern California, growing up with a mentally ill sibling who often sapped her family of emotional capital, to New York’s downtown art and music scene in the eighties and nineties and the birth of a band that would pave the way for acts like Nirvana, as well as help inspire the Riot Grrl generation, here is an edgy and                              evocative portrait of a life in art.

JustKidsJust Kids by Patti Smith. In this tough, tender memoir, singer-songwriter Patti Smith transports readers to what seemed like halcyon days for art and artists in New York as she shares tales of the denizens of Max’s Kansas City, the Hotel Chelsea, Scribner’s, Brentano’s and Strand bookstores and her new life in Brooklyn with a young man named Robert Mapplthorpe–the man who changed her life with his love, friendship, and genius.

What’s Happening 2/15/16

Have you signed up for Winter Reading yet? It’s not too late! All you have to do is have read one book before February 29 to be entered to win a Kindle Fire! Stop by either Library location to sign up today.

Tuesday, February 16DSC_0028

  • School Year Book Buddies, 4-4:45pm @ Harnish Main Library: Earn one volunteer hour for listening to a grade school student practice reading aloud. For more information visit our Volunteer page.

Wednesday, February 17

  • Office Hours with the Young Adult Librarian, 3-6pm @ Harnish Main Library: Come ask questions about reading recommendations, research, young adult programs, volunteer opportunities and more. Candy provided. Have a question, but can’t make Wednesdays? Call Ms. Jen at 847-458-3153 to make an appointment.

Thursday, February 18

  • VolunTeens, 3:30-5pm @ Harnish Main Library: Drop-in to earn volunteer hours for completing behind the scenes Library tasks. You can also learn about our other volunteer opportunities and sign-up to help with events through the next month.

Have a great week!

What’s Happening 2/8/16

GEN-YA-Office Hours-TVWinter Reading continues! Five people have turned in books they’ve read already, but there’s still plenty of time to sign up and participate. Don’t forget to stop by YA Office Hours each week to be entered to win an AMC gift card!

Wednesday, February 10

  • Office Hours with the Young Adult Librarian, 3-6pm @ Harnish Main Library: Come ask questions about reading recommendations, research, young adult programs, volunteer opportunities and more. Candy provided. Have a question, but can’t make Wednesdays? Call Ms. Jen at 847-458-3153 to make an appointment.
  • Readers Theatre-Shakespeare Light, 7-8pm @ Harnish Main Library: Do you love theatrical productions? Join us in an interactive dramatic reading of the Bard’s classic pastoral comedy “As You Like It”. It’s filled with laughs, love, mistaken identities, and much silliness. We’ll start with a brief introduction to the play, before beginning our performance. No acting experience is necessary; only willingness to read aloud. Parts will be assigned at random. Open to teens, adults and children ages 9 and up!

Thursday, February 11

  • High School Anime Club, 3:30-5pm @ Harnish Main Library: Monthly anime club meeting. This month we’re going to be playing with Minecraft Pixel Art and get ready for the return of Ship or Sink! Snacks and drinks will be served.

And don’t forget – if you took the Practice ACT Test, Saturday, February 6 @ Eastgate, the Score Pickup and Follow-Up Presentation is next Monday, February 15, 7pm also @ the Eastgate Branch Library.

Cool Crafts: Marble Magnets

You know those squashed marble things that you find at craft stores? Well you can use those, plus some glue, magnets, and cut out pictures that match the size of the marbles (either from magazines, your computer, or drawn yourself), to make these awesome marble magnets.

marble magnets

Want to find out how? Click the links below for instructions and/or a YouTube video. Have fun!

http://www.notmartha.org/tomake/marblemagnets/

https://youtu.be/e_y3USiZ7pQ

 

What’s Happening 2/1/16

Winter Reading continues! Don’t forget to stop by YA Office Hours each week to be entered to win an AMC gift card.

Monday, February 1

Tuesday, February 2

  • School Year Book Buddies, 4pm @ Harnish Main Library: It’s not too late to volunteer. Book Buddies meets every other Tuesday from now through April 26. Forms available here.

Wednesday, February 3

  • Office Hours with the Young Adult Librarian, 3-6pm @ Harnish Main Library: Come ask questions about reading recommendations, research, young adult programs, volunteer opportunities and more. Candy provided. Have a question, but can’t make Wednesdays? Call Ms. Jen at 847-458-3153 to make an appointment.

Saturday, February 6

  • ACT Practice Test by Sylvan Learning, 9:30am-1pm @ Eastgate Branch Library: Space is still available! Registration must be done in person at either Library location and costs $15 (payable by cash, check or credit card) which covers your test and scores, plus a study guide. Please bring a pencil and a calculator. Scores will be returned in-person at the follow-up session on Monday, February 15 @ 7pm @ the Eastgate Branch Library. If you cannot attend the follow-up session, scores can be retrieved from the Sylvan Learning Center in Algonquin after February 15. For Grades 10-12. Please note: This is a practice test. We are not an official testing location.